Santa Cruz de Tenerife

Santa Cruz de Tenerife is the capital of the island and the district of Santa Cruz, which apart from Tenerife also includes the islands of La Gomera, La Palma and El Hierro. In the capital is the main port of Tenerife, from which ferries go to other islands of the archipelago and to the mainland. The old town of Santa Cruz de Tenerife is popular with tourists, the Plaza of Spain is a huge fountain-pool.

Also in the capital is the annual Carnival (from the beginning to the end of February).